Friday, 13 January 2023 12:00

Chaplin - 30th Anniversary Expanded Edition from La-la Land

Written by
Rate this item
(37 votes)

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

chaplin 30th anniversary expanded editionCHAPLIN: 30th ANNIVERSARY EXPANDED EDITION

Music Composed and Conducted by John Barry
Limited Edition of 3000 Units



Order yours from starting12 noon (pst) on 1/13.

La-La Land Records, StudioCanal and Sony Classical celebrate the 30th Anniversary of the 1992 big-screen biographical drama CHAPLIN with a newly remastered, deluxe presentation of the film’s original motion picture score by legendary composer John Barry. Barry’s notable and elegant orchestral score, considered one of late composer’s last great works for the cinema, is an integral part of this creative and thoughtful chronicling of the career of the great Charlie Chaplin starring Robert Downey, Jr. and directed by Richard Attenborough. Romantic, dramatic, comedic and more, Barry’s diverse and thematically rich original score, recorded at Abbey Road with the English Chamber Orchestra, also interpolates a number of Chaplin’s own music compositions such as “Smile” and his scores to CITY LIGHTS and LIMELIGHT. Produced by Neil S. Bulk and mastered by Doug Schwartz, this special limited edition CD presentation is expanded with previously unreleased material and includes exclusive liner notes by journalist/author Jon Burlingame. This release is limited to 3000 units and features art design by Scott Saslow.


1. Chaplin-Main Theme 3:08
2. Hannah’s Hope† / Workhouse Chase / Mudflats 3:00
3. To The Asylum :57
4. Charlie On Riverbank 1:10
5. Charlie Proposes 3:01
6. Charlie Goes To The U.S. 2:57
7. In The Cutting Room 2:15
8. Discovering The Tramp / The Wedding Chase 4:03
9. Funny With A Hose / This Is My Work 1:26
10. News Of Hetty 1:01
11. Chaplin’s Studio Opening 1:58
12. The Roll Dance 2:34
13. To Salt Lake City 1:07
14. Salt Lake City Episode* 2:11
15. Tea For Four† 1:14
16. Hetty’s Dead / Smile** 2:43
17. Remembering Hetty 2:58
18. I Had No Home :31
19. From London To L.A. 3:21
20. The Hungry People / Smile** 1:50
21. Farewell Sweet Prince** 1:25
22. Joan Out Of Control :58
23. Joan Barry Trouble / Oona Arrives 2:15
24. Premiere Fanfare :43
25. It’s All Over / Guilty 1:20
26. Theme From “Limelight”* :48
27. They’ve Thrown You Out 1:14
28. Madness, Charlie? 1:00
29. Smile** 2:05
30. The Roll Dance 1:48
31. Chaplin-Main Theme / Smile* 4:47
32. Smile** 3:37



33. Early Days In London† 4:18
34. To California / The Cutting Room 3:44
35. News Of Hetty’s Death / Smile** 3:43



*Composed by Charles Chaplin
**Contains “Smile” composed by Charles Chaplin
† Contains “The Honeysuckle and the Bee” by William Penn and Albert H. Fitz

Read 1963 times Last modified on Friday, 13 January 2023 12:05

Our other sites

Geoff Leonard writes CD booklet notes, articles, and occasionally books, in partnership with Pete Walker. You can read more about this here:


Geoff (owner) and Ruud (webmaster) have been running the John Barry website since June 18, 2001. This website is not endorsed by the composer's family.

John Barry - The Man With The Midas Touch, the definitive website
dedicated to Britain's foremost composer of film and TV music.